September 19 2008 Issue Medical Staff Pulse is
a Publication of the Chief of Staff

Medical Center Earns Honor for 3rd Consecutive Time

 For the 3rd consecutive time, Cedars-Sinai has been designated as a Magnet facility for nursing excellence by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. The designation, which was awarded this week following a successful site visit in July, is valid for a four-year period. 


Make Your Diagnosis

 History: Seven-year-old girl with history of seizures. CT image of the brain 


FDA Announces Important New Safety Information Regarding Rituxan

The FDA recently announced that Genentech, Inc. has informed healthcare professionals nationwide of revisions to prescribing information for Rituxan (rituximab). 



 Cedars-Sinai's Stroke Program has been certified as a Primary Stroke Center by The Joint Commission -- a prestigious distinction that recognizes our commitment to following national standards and guidelines that can significantly improve outcomes for stroke patients.  This certification, which became effective September 10, is only awarded to those stroke centers that can successfully pass a rigorous on-site review by The Joint Commission's independent surveyor. 


Heart to Heart

Annual Cardiovascular Disease Conference Brings Experts Together

The 8th Annual "Controversies and Advances in the Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease" drew 550 heart specialists from around the world on Sept. 4 and 5. The conference was co-sponsored by the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute and featured Eduardo Marbán, M.D., (pictured above) director of the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute, as a keynote speaker.


Personal Patient List Sharing

 Web/VS allows you to share your Personal Patient List (PPL) with one or more other physicians. This can be very helpful when other physicians are covering for you on the weekend or at night. The other physicians can also see (but not modify) your personal memos about your patients. 



Prediman K. (P.K.) Shah, M.D., to Receive AHA's

James B. Herrick Award

 Prediman K. (P.K.) Shah, M.D., director of the Division of Cardiology, has been selected by the American Heart Association's Council on Clinical Cardiology to receive its highest award, the James B. Herrick Award, for scientific achievements that have contributed profoundly to the advancement and practice of clinical cardiology. 


Save the Date

Annual Meeting of the Medical Staff is Oct. 20

 The Annual Meeting of the Medical Staff will be held on Monday, Oct. 20, in Harvey Morse Auditorium and includes the presentation of the Pioneer in Medicine Award. The lunch and reception will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 12 p.m., with the program following from 12 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. For more information, please call the Chief of Staff Office at (310) 423-5133.  

Meetings and Events

9th Annual HIV/AIDS Conference: September 26

Rosh Hashanah Services: September 30

Advances in Ovarian Cancer Conference: October 16

Share Your Story

 Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest by clicking on the link below to e-mail the Chief of Staff's office. 

E-mail Chief of Staff's Office