Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

medical staff pulse newsletter

Text size: A A A

Physician News

Keith Black, M.D., was honored by the Cedars-Sinai Alumni Association, and John Harold, M.D., was named president-elect of the American College of Cardiology.

» Read more

Meetings and Events

Pharmacy Focus

Carisoprodol to Become Schedule IV Drug on Jan. 11, 2012

Due to the potential for abuse of carisoprodol, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) made the decision to designate carisoprodol (SOMA) as a Schedule IV controlled substance.

» Read more

Upcoming CME Conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - December 2011 (PDF)

Grand Rounds

Click here to view upcoming Grand Rounds.

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Physician News

Cedars-SinaiKeith L. Black, M.D., received the Howard I. Wilner, MD Alumnus of the Year award at the 2011 Annual Business Meeting & Dinner of the Cedars-Sinai Alumni Association on Dec. 6. Black is chair and professor of the Department of Neurosurgery and director of the Maxine Dunitz Neurosurgical Institute. Black, who joined Cedars-Sinai in 1997, also holds the Ruth and Lawrence Harvey Chair in Neurosciences. (Pictured: Keith L. Black, MD, left, and Yzhar Charuzi, MD, president of the Cedars-Sinai Alumni Association)

John G. Harold, M.D., was named president-elect of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) on Dec. 5 by the ACC Board of Trustees. He begins his term in April 2012 at the close of the ACC annual meeting in Chicago and is slated to become president of the ACC at its 2013 annual meeting in San Francisco. Harold is the current ACC vice president. In his new role as president-elect, Harold will work closely with the ACC staff on issues from the state and national level that affect the practice of cardiovascular disease. Harold is a past Chief of Staff at Cedars-Sinai and is an attending physician at the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute.