Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

medical staff pulse newsletter

Text size: A A A

Physician News

- Michael J. Alexander, MD
- Mahul B. Amin, MD
- Keith L. Black, MD
- Armando E. Giuliano, MD

» Read more

Meetings and Events

Grand Rounds

Click here to view upcoming Grand Rounds.

Upcoming CME Conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - September 2011 (PDF)

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Physician News

Michael J. Alexander, MD

Cedars-Sinai Alexander, professor and vice chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at Cedars-Sinai and director of Cedars-Sinai's Neurovascular Center, has been named president-elect of the Society of NeuroInterventional Surgery.

The society is a 600-member organization of doctors who treat brain aneurysms, strokes, carotid artery blockages, other brain artery disorders and spinal abnormalities through minimally invasive procedures. Alexander has held executive committee positions in the society for the past four years.

He is well known for taking leadership roles in research on minimally invasive techniques and innovative devices, such as balloons and stents to open brain arteries and tools to retrieve stroke-causing clots.

Mahul B. Amin, MD

Cedars-SinaiAmin, chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, will offer his perspectives and expertise on personalized medicine and digital pathology at the 2011 Pathology Visions Conference.

Amin's keynote address at the conference, to be held at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego from Oct. 30 to Nov. 2, will discuss the link between meeting the individualized needs of patients and the ever-evolving field of digital pathology. He will also discuss the role of the pathologist in healthcare, as well as the strengths and limitations of traditional microscopy.

"The focus of Dr. Amin's keynote address is particularly relevant, since digital pathology is a catalyst in providing pathologists with the tools and information required to be successful in the era of personalized medicine," said Dirk Soenksen, president of the Digital Pathology Association and chair of the Pathology Visions Program Committee.

Keith L. Black, MD

Cedar-SinaiBlack recently received the National Urban League's highest honor - The Legend Award - at the organization's annual conference in Boston.

The award, presented annually at the Whitney M. Young Awards Gala, recognizes influential leaders who have done exceptional work within the African-American community. In addition to Black, Suzanne de Passe, an entrepreneur with a storied career in the entertainment industry, and Tony Dungy, author and NFL football player and coach, were honored. The ceremony was July 30.

Black is chairman and professor of the Department of Neurosurgery, director of the Maxine Dunitz Neurosurgical Institute, and director of the Johnnie L. Cochran Jr. Brain Tumor Center at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center.

Armando E. Giuliano, MD

Cedars-Sinai Giuliano has been awarded the Susan G. Komen for the Cure's® Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction. This is the group's highest honor for basic science and clinical research and was given to Giuliano for his lifetime work, especially his pioneering findings on lymph node removal in women with breast cancer.

Giuliano is executive vice chair of Surgery for Surgical Oncology, co-director of the Saul and Joyce Brandman Breast Center - A Project of Women's Guild, and associate director for Surgical Oncology at the Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute. His 30-year research career has led to less invasive breast surgery, a reduction in the procedure's short- and long-term side effects, and improvement in the quality of life for countless women with breast cancer.

The award will be presented in December at an international gathering of breast cancer researchers and patient advocacy organizations. It is accompanied by a $25,000 award to further his breast cancer research.