Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

medical staff pulse newsletter

Text size: A A A

Meetings and Events

Grand Rounds

Click here to view upcoming grand rounds.

Upcoming CME Conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - May 2014


Do you know of a significant event in the life of a medical staff member? Please let us know, and we'll post these milestones in Medical Staff Pulse. Also, feel free to submit comments on milestones, and we'll post the comments in the next issue. Click here to email us your milestones and comments.

Click the "Read more" link to see this issue's milestones.

» Read more

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Congratulations to Leadership Program Graduates

Congratulations to the more than 20 physicians who graduated this month from the Cedars-Sinai Medical Staff Leadership Development Program.

The program is aimed at training and motivating future leaders of the medical staff.

Participants attended a series of lectures and joined an off-site weekend retreat. In addition, each participant managed a performance improvement project that will impact their patients and practice, allowing hands-on use of the tools and concepts introduced in the program.

The 2014-15 Medical Staff Leadership Development Program will start in September. A call for nominations will be issued soon. Participants are nominated by department chairs and members of the Medical Executive Committee.

Medical Staff Leadership Development Program, Class of 2013-14 graduates

First row (from left): Anuj Desai, MD, Pediatrics; Paola Aghajanian, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Michelle Pearl, MD, Emergency Medicine; Sandra Thomasian, MD, Emergency Medicine; Melissa Wong, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Mona Sabeti, MD, General Internal Medicine

Second row (from left): Swamy Venuturupalli, MD, General Internal Medicine/Rheumatology; Anat Ben-Shlomo, MD, General Internal Medicine/Endocrinology; Afshin Afrashteh, MD, General Internal Medicine/Inpatient Specialty Program; Mark Choi, MD, General Internal Medicine/Inpatient Specialty Program; Jennifer Anger, MD, Urology; Gil Melmed, MD, program co-chair; Richard Tuli, MD, Radiation Oncology

Third row (from left): Joel Geiderman, MD, co-chair, Emergency Medicine; Sam Torbati, MD, co-chair, Emergency Medicine; Shaun Miller, MD, program co-chair; Joseph Giaconi, MD, Imaging; Bahman Shamloo, MD, Anesthesiology; Rishi Gupta, MD, General Internal Medicine/Palliative Care; Arash Asher, MD, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Not pictured: Farin Amersi, MD, Surgery; David Choi, MD, Anesthesiology; Ryan DellaMaggiora, MD, General Internal Medicine/Inpatient Specialty Program; Karyn Eilber, MD, Urology; Maha Guindi, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Rebecca Hedrick, MD, Psychiatry; Scott Karlan, MD, program co-chair; Jon Kea, MD, General Internal Medicine/Inpatient Specialty Program; Amanda Ruiz, MD, Psychiatry