Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

medical staff pulse newsletter

Text size: A A A

Recognition for Arena, Charlton, Jones, Karlan, Spiegel

Elizabeth A. Arena, MD, has been awarded board certification in complex general surgical oncology, Timothy P. Charlton, MD, represented the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons this month in Washington, Heather Jones, MD, has received a grant from the National Institutes of Health for lung research, Beth Y. Karlan, MD, will receive the 2015 Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Gynecologic Oncology, and Brennan Spiegel, MD, MSHS, has been named co-editor-in-chief of The American Journal of Gastroenterology.

» Read more

Meetings and Events

Grand Rounds

Click here to view upcoming grand rounds.

Upcoming CME Conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - March 2015 (PDF)


Do you know of a significant event in the life of a medical staff member? Please let us know, and we'll post these milestones in Medical Staff Pulse. Also, feel free to submit comments on milestones, and we'll post the comments in the next issue. Click here to email us your milestones and comments.

» Read more

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Here Is Your Chance to Honor a Deserving Nurse

Nominations for Maggie Stempson-Carter Award Is March 27

Online nominations for the 2015 Maggie Stempson-Carter Excellence in Caring Award for eligible nurses have been extended. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 27.

This annual award is given on behalf of the medical staff to a Cedars-Sinai nurse who exemplifies professionalism, clinical excellence and caring. Originally known as the Excellence in Caring Award, it was renamed in 2005 in honor of the late Maggie Stempson-Carter, RN, who received the award in 2004.

Click here to submit a nomination online. Only medical staff members may submit nominations.

The award recipient will be selected by the Excellence in Caring Award Medical Staff Selection Committee and will be honored at the Nurses Week awards ceremony Wednesday, May 13, at 1 p.m. in Harvey Morse Auditorium.

If you submitted a nomination last year and would like your nominee to be considered for this year's award, please contact Chris Ng, MD, chief of staff and co-chair of the MD/RN Collaborative, at chris.ng@cshs.org.