sutures newsletter


P and T Approvals, Changes for Hydrocodone, Tramadol

Pharmacy Focus

See highlights of the Aug. 5 meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Also, the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration is more strictly controlling hydrocodone combination products, and more details are available about tramadol's new status as a controlled substance.

Mark Your Calendar

Surgery Grand Rounds

Click the "read more" to see information about upcoming Surgery Grand Rounds.

Grand Rounds

Click here to view a schedule of all upcoming grand rounds.

Educational Schedule

Click the PDF link below to see the Department of Surgery's educational schedule.

Educational Schedule - September 2014 (PDF)

Surgery Scheduling

Click the "read more" for hours and contact information for surgery scheduling.

Share Your News

Know an interesting colleague we should profile? A story we should tell? Submit your ideas, meetings and events for consideration.

Click here to submit your news to Sutures

New Award Named for Adashek

Kenneth Adashek, MD

A cash award of $25,000 in honor of Kenneth Adashek, MD, will be given annually to a surgeon on the staff of Cedars-Sinai.

The Dr. Kenneth Adashek Surgical Excellence Award is made possible by the generosity of Toni and Emmet Stephenson. It is intended to provide vital resources to surgeons, within 10 years of fellowship completion, who exemplify and promulgate the outstanding personal and professional qualities of Adashek, including surgical excellence, dedication to the field of surgery, exceptional interpersonal skills and complete integrity. The award will provide recognition of Adashek's significant accomplishments, while highlighting Cedars-Sinai's emphasis on compassionate care for each patient.

A committee of three, co-chaired by Bruce Gewertz, MD, surgeon-in-chief and chair of the Department of Surgery, and Adashek, will select a finalist from a group of nominees. Adashek and Gewertz will name a third committee member to help select a finalist.

Nominees for this award will be selected from those excellent surgeons who best exhibit professionalism and compassionate, patient-centered care. The prize funds may be applied to educational or academic activity.

Nominations may be sent to

The recipient of the first Adashek award will be announced Dec. 1 and presented at the annual departmental holiday party.