Medical Staff Pulse is
a Publication of the Chief of Staff
MEC Update

2007 MEC Secretary & Treasurer Announced

The MEC has elected the following physicians to the offices of secretary and treasurer for 2007:

  • Keith Klein, M.D. -- Secretary (first term)
  • Norman Schulman, M.D. -- Treasurer (second term)

Klein (pictured left) is a board-certified nephrologist who is clinical chief of Nephrology and director of the Metabolic Support Team at Cedars-Sinai. Among his many activities at the medical center, Klein serves as chair of the Continuing Medical Education Committee and vice chair of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. He is also a member of the Medical Executive Committee and the Chief of Staff Advisory Council.

Klein has been affiliated with Cedars-Sinai since 1978 and received the Chief of Staff Award in 2004. Most recently, he received the 2006 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching at Cedars-Sinai.

"After 25 years at Cedars-Sinai, not only am I honored to be the medical staff secretary, but I will probably set a record as being the secretary with the most unreadable handwriting," says Klein.

Schulman (pictured right) is clinical chief of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and he is a member of the Medical Executive Committee and the Chief of Staff Advisory Council. As part of the Cedars-Sinai Medical Group, Schulman serves as director of the OB/Gyn department. He is involved in numerous activities and committees at Cedars-Sinai and is currently co-chair of the Clinical Resource Committee, co-chair of the OB/Gyn MD/RN Collaborative Committee and co-chair of the OB/Gyn PIC. He also sits on three Peer Review Committees.

An attending member of the medical staff since 1974, Schulman received the Friend of Nursing Award at Cedars-Sinai in 2005 and the Physician of the Year Award in 2004 from Cedars-Sinai Medical Delivery Network. This year, he also received the Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching.

"Cedars-Sinai has been my home for my entire medical career," says Schulman. "I truly view these years as an opportunity to give back to my community and to my profession."