Medical Staff Pulse is
a Publication of the Chief of Staff
Annual Medical Staff Meeting

Glenn Braunstein, M.D., Receives Pioneer in Medicine Award

Chief of Staff Award also presented to Drs. Brien and Ng

To the applause of more than 200 colleagues, Glenn D. Braunstein, M.D., received the prestigious Pioneer in Medicine Award at the annual meeting of the medical staff on October 16.

Braunstein, who is chair of the Department of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai, was recognized for his outstanding achievements in research, his many clinical contributions and his innovative leadership. Board certified in internal medicine with a subspecialty of endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism, Braunstein's research has primarily focused on reproductive endocrinology.

Braunstein said that his interest in research dates back to 1964, before he started medical school at UC San Francisco.

"I had received a NIH Summer Student Research Fellowship to study placental hormones. Although I was supposed to be working on a different hormone, I became intrigued with human chorionic gonadotropin or hCG, which had contaminated my preparations," he said. "The immense response of the reproductive system to hCG was exciting to observe, and resulted in this hormone becoming the object of a good portion of my research activities over the next 40 years."

Also honored were William Brien, M.D., and Christopher Ng, M.D., both of whom received the Chief of Staff Award from Paul Silka, M.D.
(pictured l-r)

Brien is Vice Chief of Staff, director of the Orthopedic Center and director of the Institute for Joint Replacement. He also served as interim chair of the Department of Surgery prior to the appointment of Bruce Gewertz, M.D., as chair. Ng is director of Laparoscopic Urologic Oncology and Robotic Surgery and serves as co-chair of the MD-RN Collaborative.

At the meeting, many longstanding members of the medical staff received recognition for their years of service. They are:

50 Years
Gerald W. Labiner, M.D.

40 Years
Earle E. Crandall, M.D., William P. Orien, D.P.M.

35 Years
Mathis Abrams, M.D., Leon I. Bender, M.D., Ned N. Cowan, M.D., Eugene L. Fishman, M.D., Richard L. Hoffman, M.D., Arthur M. Kahn, M.D., Kenneth Leeds, M.D., William J. Mandel, M.D., Ruben Marmet, M.D., Richard K. Mettel, M.D., Jay J. Silverman, M.D., Philip Yalowitz, M.D.

30 Years
Aviva Biederman, M.D.,Myles J. Cohen, M.D., Stuart M. Cohen, M.D., Robert M. Davidson, M.D., Clarke D. Espy, M.D., Steven A. Feig, M.D., Richard Fleming, M.D., Wayne S. Gradman, M.D., Sharon D. Jacobson, M.D., Peter Julien, M.D., Arnold W. Klein, M.D., Keith E. Liberman, M.D., Edward Y. Liu, M.D., Karl I. Norris, M.D., Irwin Ruben, M.D., Stephen A. Sacks, M.D., Joel Schneider, M.D., Clive M. Segil, M.D., Jay J. Stein, M.D., Jay L. Sugarman, M.D., Stuart L. Vener, M.D., Allen B. Weiner, M.D.

25 Years
Clarita Amurao, M.D., William J. Binder, M.D., Barry J. Brock, M.D., Michael L. Chaikin, M.D., Daniel V. Ehrensaft, M.D., Gregory J. Ewertz, M.D., H. Kenneth Fisher, M.D., Susan Gardner, M.D., Stephen L. Graham, M.D., Carol B. Hyman, M.D., Ronald P. Karlsberg, M.D., Delores Kent, M.D., Lawrence E. Libuser, D.D.S., Frank S. Liu, M.D., Rashid Massumi, M.D., Shlomo Melmed, M.D., Avinash Mondkar, M.D., Hector J. Rodriguez, M.D., Peter J. Rosen, M.D., Ari Rosenblatt, D.D.S., Steven S. Schenkel, M.D., Arthur B. Schlachtman, D.D.S., Alejandro Sloninsky, M.D., Steven W. Tabak, M.D., Douglas B. Tamkin, M.D., Robert Wagmeister, M.D., Abraham U. Waks, M.D., Robert N. Wolfe, M.D., Joseph Yadegar, M.D.