Medical Staff Pulse is
a Publication of the Chief of Staff
Physician News

Mahul B. Amin, M.D.,

will chair the 2009 American Joint Commission on Cancer (AJCC) clinical and pathologic staging of prostate cancer subgroup. Amin, who is one of the founding members of the AJCC, will lead an international panel of multidisciplinary experts to drive nomenclatural and stage grouping changes for future prostate cancer reporting and management. Amin is chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.

Stefan M. Pulst, M.D.,

director of the Division of Neurology, has been appointed chair of the Science Committee of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). The AAN is the world's largest neurology society.

David L. Rimoin, M.D.,

director of the Medical Genetics Institute, has received the American Society of Human Genetics' (ASHG) Leadership Award. Rimoin is the first person to receive the organization's first award, which was established to honor an individual whose professional achievements have fostered and enriched the development of various human genetics disciplines. Rimoin was presented the Leadership Award at the ASHG's annual meeting in New Orleans.

Prediman K. Shah, M.D.,

director of the Division of Cardiology and the Artherosclerosis Research Center, will be honored for his cardiac research by the United Hostesses' Charities at its 64th Annual Dinner Dance at the Regent Beverly Wilshire on November 4.