Medical Staff Pulse is
a Publication of the Chief of Staff
Maggie Stempson-Carter Award Nominations

Online Nominations Now Accepted through April 18

Is there a special nurse you would like to acknowledge with an award?

If so, online nominations for the 2008 Maggie Stempson-Carter Excellence in Caring Award for eligible nurses are being accepted now through April 18. Only medical staff members may submit a nomination.

This annual award is given on behalf of the medical staff to a Cedars-Sinai nurse who exemplifies professionalism, clinical excellence and caring. Originally known as the Excellence in Caring Award, it was renamed in 2005 in honor of the late Maggie Stempson-Carter, R.N., who received the award in 2004. Other award recipients include Peachy Hain, R.N., Jean Eskenazi, R.N., and Bernice Coleman, Ph.D., ACNP.

Entry forms are only available online and can be found on the Intranet home page and on the MD/RN Collaborative website. Select the link that says: "Maggie Stempson-Carter Medical Staff Excellence in Caring Award Nomination Form," and it will take you directly to the form. Please fill out the form completely, as all fields are required except for the telephone information.

The award recipient will be selected by the Excellence in Caring Award Medical Staff Selection Committee and will be announced at the Nurses' Week Awards Ceremony on May 9 from noon to 1:30 p.m. in Harvey Morse Auditorium.

If you submitted a nomination last year and would like your nominee to be considered for this year's award, please e-mail Chris Ng, M.D., co-chair of the MD/RN Collaborative, at chris.ng@cshs.org or call him at (310) 423-4700.