Medical Staff Pulse Newsletter

New FDA alerts

Pharmacy focus

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has issued the following alerts:

- Maraviroc (Selzentry®) and hepatotoxicity

- Risk to children of secondary exposure of estradiol transdermal spray (Evamist®)

- Update: Boxed warning for perflutren lipid microsphere (Definity®)

- Boxed warning update for the entire class of TNF-alpha blockers

» Read more

Meetings and events

Grand rounds

Click here to view upcoming Grand Rounds.

Upcoming CME conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - January 2012 (PDF)

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Danovitch named chair of Department of Psychiatry

Itai Danovitch, MD, has been selected as the new chair of Cedars-Sinai's Department of Psychiatry.

As chair of the newly restructured department, Danovitch will lead faculty and staff through the transformation of the department with a focus on providing high-quality patient care through its hospital-based consultation/liaison services, said Shlomo Melmed, MD, senior vice president for Academic Affairs and dean of the Medical Faculty, and Mark Gavens, senior vice president for Clinical Care Services and Chief Operating Officer.

The emphasis will be on enhancing relationships between the Department of Psychiatry and key clinical programs and specialty services throughout the institution. In addition to delivering critical psychiatric services through the medical center, the department will provide expert psychiatric consultation in specialty areas such as the Emergency Department, Comprehensive Transplant Center and the Samuel Oschin Cancer Center.

"The next six months will produce evolving transitions for patients, staff, trainees and faculty, and I am committed to working closely with our leadership to uphold commitments to each of these groups, while striving to ensure continuity of medical center service needs and quality," Danovitch said.

Sarah J. Kilpatrick, MD, PhD, chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, led the search committee for the position.