Medical Staff Pulse Newsletter

Recognition for Chugh, Karlan, Shah, Siegel, Rosen, Makoff, Barrett

Physician News

Sumeet Chugh, MD, Beth Y. Karlan, MD, P.K. Shah, MD, and Robert J. Siegel, MD, received honors and awards from top professional organizations, and speaking at a recent palliative care conference were Bradley T. Rosen, MD, Eve Makoff, MD, and Todd Barrett, MD.

» Read more

April 24 March to Disrupt Traffic at 6500 Wilshire

The annual march protesting the Armenian genocide will take place Friday, April 24. The march will end around noon with a demonstration outside the Turkish Consulate, 6300 Wilshire Blvd. The demonstration will continue into the early evening.

Because 2015 marks the 100th anniversary of the genocide's beginning, traffic, parking and Cedars-Sinai shuttle service at 6500 Wilshire are likely to be affected more than in past years. The shuttles' pickup and dropoff point until 7 p.m. that day will be moved to the Big 5 store at 6601 Wilshire.

Shuttle service to other areas may be disrupted as well. Roads will be closed because of the march, which is expected to draw 15,000 people.

Meetings and Events

Grand Rounds

Click here to view upcoming grand rounds.

Upcoming CME Conferences

Click below to view a complete list of all scheduled Continuing Medical Education conferences.

CME Newsletter - April 2015 (PDF)


Do you know of a significant event in the life of a medical staff member? Please let us know, and we'll post these milestones in Medical Staff Pulse. Also, feel free to submit comments on milestones, and we'll post the comments in the next issue. Click here to email us your milestones and comments.

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Recognition for Chugh, Karlan, Shah, Siegel, Rosen, Makoff, Barrett

Physician News

Sumeet Chugh, MD

Chugh Elected to Prestigious Honorary Society

Sumeet Chugh, MD, associate director of the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute and director of the Heart Rhythm Center, has been elected to the membership of the American Society for Clinical Investigation. Chugh, who also is a professor of Medicine, has devoted his scientific career to understanding the etiology and mechanisms of sudden cardiac arrest, with the goal of improving management and prevention.

In addition to his leadership roles at Cedars-Sinai, Chugh initiated and continues to direct the Oregon Sudden Unexpected Death Study, a comprehensive, multiyear assessment of cardiac deaths in the Portland metropolitan area.

The American Society for Clinical Investigation, based in Ann Arbor, Michigan, is an honorary society of more than 3,000 physician-scientists from all specialties who are elected for their outstanding records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research. This year, the society received 188 membership nominations and elected 75 of the nominees. With the election of Chugh, Cedars-Sinai now has 11 active members in the society.

Beth Y. Karlan, MD

Karlan Honored for Cancer Research

Beth Y. Karlan, MD, director of the Women’s Cancer Program at the Cedars-Sinai Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute, has received the 2015 Claudia Cohen Research Foundation Prize for Outstanding Gynecologic Cancer Researcher. The $50,000 prize was awarded by the Claudia Cohen Research Foundation and the Foundation for Women’s Cancer.

Karlan, a professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, also directs the Division of Gynecologic Oncology in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the Gilda Radner Hereditary Cancer Program. She has devoted her career to understanding the root causes of ovarian cancer and finding new means to improve the lives of women with — and at risk for — this disease.

Among her many contributions is the discovery of a novel biomarker, HE4, which is in wide clinical use to help triage women with a pelvic mass and to help monitor women with ovarian cancer for possible recurrence.

Karlan was presented with the award in March at the Society of Gynecologic Oncology Annual Meeting on Women's Cancer in Chicago, where she also received the society's 2015 Distinguished Service Award. She serves on the National Cancer Advisory Board, a committee that advises the U.S. National Cancer Institute, and on a national panel, under the auspices of the National Academy of Sciences, that is evaluating the state of science in ovarian cancer research.

Rosen, Makoff, Barrett Speak at HASC Conference on Palliative Care

Three physicians from Cedars-Sinai spoke recently at a conference presented by the Hospital Association of Southern California and Inland Empire Palliative Care Coalition. Their topic was the Cedars-Sinai Supportive Care Medicine program.

Speaking at the March 12 conference were Bradley T. Rosen, MD, medical director of the Supportive Care Medicine program, Eve Makoff, MD, assistant director of Supportive Care Medicine/Oncology, and Todd Barrett, MD, assistant director of Supportive Care Medicine/Heart.

The main topics of their discussion were:

  • An overview of the Supportive Care Medicine program's vision, mission and goals
  • Rebranding and rebuilding efforts
  • Staffing plans
  • Impact on consult volume
  • Critical elements of a quality palliative care consult
  • Efforts to integrate Supportive Care Medicine's into the Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute and the Mechanical Circulatory Support Program.

The conference took place in Rancho Cucamonga.

For details of the presentation, click the PDF link below.

Supportive Care Medicine presentation at HASC conference - March 12, 2015 (PDF)

From left: Eve Makoff, MD, Todd Barrett, MD, and Bradley T. Rosen, MD, at the conference

P.K. Shah, MD

Robert J. Siegel, MD

Shah, Siegel Honored by College of Cardiology

Two physician-researchers from the Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute received prestigious awards from the American College of Cardiology during the medical society's 64th Annual Scientific Session & Expo, held March 14-16 in San Diego.

P.K. Shah, MD, director of the Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center, was named a master of the 40,000-member medical society. Robert J. Siegel, MD, director of the Heart Institute's Cardiac Noninvasive Laboratory, was awarded the college's 2015 Distinguished Teacher Award. 

"Dr. Shah and Dr. Siegel are giants in cardiology and have contributed immensely to the outstanding reputation of the Heart Institute," said Eduardo Marbán, MD, PhD, director of the Heart Institute. "Dr. Siegel is internationally recognized as one of the world's leading experts in cardiac ultrasound. His dedication to teaching new physicians how to use leading-edge technology to diagnose and treat heart disease is unparalleled. Dr. Shah, who first came to Cedars-Sinai in 1976, is known for his immense contributions to cardiac patient care, research and teaching."

In 2014, Shah and Siegel, who are both professors of Medicine, were named Elliot Rapaport Cardiologists of the Year by the California Chapter of the American College of Cardiology.