Medical Staff Pulse Newsletter

Meetings and Events

Grand Rounds

Upcoming CME Conferences


Do you know of a significant event in the life of a medical staff member? Please let us know, and we'll post these milestones in Medical Staff Pulse. Also, feel free to submit comments on milestones, and we'll post the comments in the next issue.

Submit your milestones and comments.

Share Your News

Won any awards or had an article accepted for publication? Share your news about professional achievements and other items of interest.

Click here to share your news

Congratulations to Leadership Program Graduates

LD Grads 2019480px.jpg

Medical Staff Leadership Development, Class of 2018-19 graduates

Congratulations to the more than two dozen physicians who graduated on May 9 from the Cedars-Sinai Medical Staff Leadership Development Program.

The program is aimed at training and motivating future leaders of the medical staff.

In addition to attending a series of lectures and an off-site weekend retreat, this year's class managed a performance-improvement project that will impact their patients and practice, allowing hands-on use of the skills and knowledge introduced in the program.

A call for nominations for the 2019-2020 academic year from members of the Medical Executive Committee has been issued.  Please submit nominations to Shaun Miller, MD, program co-chair, at shaun.miller@cshs.org by Friday, June 14.

Front row (from left):  Audrey Moruzzi, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Caroline Gibson, MD, Pediatrics, Neonatology; Nicole Van Groningen, MD, General Internal Medicine; Peggy Miles, MD, Program Co-Chair; Rania Bakkar, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Brandon Charles, MD, Anesthesiology; Monika Chaudhry, MD, Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences; Ryan Kotton, MD, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Oren Friedman, MD, Internal Medicine, Pulmonary; H. Gabriel Lipshutz, MD, Imaging.

Second row (from left): Shaun Miller, MD, program co-chair; Nicholas Szumski, MD, Neurology, CSMG; Pedro Sanchez, MD, Pediatrics, Genetics; Anshul Gandhi, MD, Emergency Medicine; Steven Oppenheim, MD, Supportive Care Medicine; John Molitoris, MD, CSMCF; David Chang, MD, Cardiology, CSMCF; Christopher Boudakian, MD, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Ali Azizzadeh, MD, Surgery, Vascular; David Tseng, MD, Emergency Medicine; Jeffrey Smith, MD, JD, MMM, executive vice president, Hospital Operations and COO, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center.

Third row (from left): Richard Burwick, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Maternal-Fetal Medicine; Christopher Ng, MD, program co-chair; NavYash Gupta, MD, Vascular Surgery, CSMCF; Soniya Gandhi, MD, MDRH, Internal Medicine; Colleen Ryan, MD, CSMCF; Farshid Nejad, MD, Surgery, Podiatry; Benjamin King, MD, Radiation Oncology; Matthew Lee, MD, Surgery, ENT.

Not pictured: Alexandra Gangi, MD, Surgery; Joseph Robinson, MD, Imaging; Steven Sykes, MD, program co-chair; Mary Alice Vijjeswarapu, MD, Anesthesiology.