sutures newsletter


Surgery Department News

Kira Chaiboonma, BS, Donald C. Dafoe, MD, Seth Felder, MD, Heidi A. Hotz, RN, Silvia Kurtovic, MD, Douglas Liou, MD, Scott Short, MD, Ryan Spurrier, MD, and Dodanim Talavera, MD, MS, PhD are highlighted.

Mark Your Calendar

Grand Rounds

Click here to view a schedule of all upcoming grand rounds.

Surgery Scheduling

Click the "read more" for hours and contact information for surgery scheduling.

Share Your News

Know an interesting colleague we should profile? A story we should tell? Submit your ideas, meetings and events for consideration.

Click here to submit your news to Sutures

Surgery Department News

Department of Surgery Represented at the ACS Committee on Trauma Region XIV Meeting in Cartagena, Colombia

As part of Cedars-Sinai's commitment to enhance trauma care locally, nationally and internationally, Heidi A. Hotz, RN, trauma program manager, joined the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma Region XIV annual meeting in Cartagena, Colombia, as the course director and key faculty for the Trauma Outcomes and Performance Improvement Course (TOPIC).

This course, offered through the Society of Trauma Nurses, has proven to enhance patient safety among verified trauma centers across the country. This was the inaugural TOPIC course for Colombia. Region XIV consists of all of the countries in South America.

Lipkin Award Goes to Liou

Douglas Liou, MD, has won the 2013 Dr. Craig A. Lipkin Research Award. The award was presented May 29 at the Craig A. Lipkin, MD, Research Symposium. 

Presenters at the symposium were:

  • Seth Felder, MD – "Clinical and Acoustical Analysis of Gastrointestinal Sounds"
  • Douglas Liou, MD – "Thromboelastography after Traumatic Brain Injury and Implications of Beta-Adrenergic Receptor Knockout "
  • Scott Short, MD – "The Role of Prostaglandin E Receptor 1 (EP1) in Inflammatory Gut Barrier Failure"
  • Ryan Spurrier, MD – "Tissue-Engineered Small Intestine"

The Lipkin award is given after faculty members at the symposium vote on the best research presentation. This symposium is dedicated to a surgery resident who lost his life in a car accident in Hawaii.

Pictured (from left): Douglas Liou, MD, Scott Short, MD, Ryan Spurrier, MD, and Seth Felder, MD

Short Wins Rubenstein Prize

Scott Short, MD, has won the 2013 Paul Rubenstein, MD, Prize for Excellence in Resident Research. His presentation was titled "Celecoxib Attenuates Gut Barrier Failure During Experimental Peritonitis."

The award was presented June 5, after presentations by Short and other residents in Harvey Morse Auditorium.

Researchers Honored for Poster at American Transplant Congress

The poster titled "Murine Transplantation of Beta Cell Lines Derived From Human Induced Pluripotential Cells" was awarded a ribbon for "distinction" at the recent annual American Transplant Congress in Seattle.

Dodanim Talavera, MD, MS, PhD, was the primary researcher, with contributions by Kira Chaiboonma, BS, Silvia Kurtovic, MD, and Donald C. Dafoe, MD. This ongoing work is a collaborative effort between the Department of Surgery and the Regenerative Medicine Institute.