sutures newsletter


P and T Approvals, FDA Warnings

Pharmacy Focus

See highlights of the Oct. 7 meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Also, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has issued warnings about lenalidomide, duloxetine hydrochloride, alglucosidase alfa and methoxy polyethylene glycol-epoetin beta.

Mark Your Calendar

Grand Rounds

Click here to view a schedule of all upcoming grand rounds.

Educational Schedule

Click the PDF link below to see the Department of Surgery's educational schedule.

Educational Schedule - December 2014 (PDF)

Surgery Scheduling

Click the "read more" for hours and contact information for surgery scheduling.

Share Your News

Know an interesting colleague we should profile? A story we should tell? Submit your ideas, meetings and events for consideration.

Click here to submit your news to Sutures

Amersi Honored as First Recipient of Adashek Award

At the award presentation were (from left) Tessa Stephenson Brand, Rich Brand, Toni and Emmet Stephenson, Kenneth W. Adashek, MD, Farin Amersi, MD, and Bruce Gewertz, MD, surgeon-in-chief and chair of the Department of Surgery. The award was made possible by the Stephensons' generosity; the Brands are their daughter and son-in-law.

Farin Amersi, MD

Farin Amersi, MD, has been named the first winner of the Dr. Kenneth Adashek Surgical Excellence Award. The award was presented Dec. 16 at the Department of Surgery's holiday party.

The award comes with a $25,000 prize, which Amersi can use for educational or academic activity.

Amersi, a surgical oncologist, is an attending physician at the Cedars-Sinai Saul and Joyce Brandman Breast Center — A Project of Women's Guild. Her specialty is in surgical oncology with clinical expertise in breast cancer and endocrine, melanoma, sarcoma and gastrointestinal surgery.

The award provides vital resources to a surgeon who is within 10 years of fellowship completion and who exemplifies Adashek's outstanding personal and professional qualities, including surgical excellence, dedication to the field of surgery, exceptional interpersonal skills and complete integrity.

The award recognizes Adashek's significant accomplishments while highlighting Cedars-Sinai's emphasis on compassionate care for each patient. It is made possible by the generosity of Toni and Emmet Stephenson. The award will be given annually to a surgeon on the staff at Cedars-Sinai.

Kenneth W. Adashek, MD, is an attending surgeon at the Cedars-Sinai Thyroid Cancer Center and the Saul and Joyce Brandman Breast Center. He is a former chair of the Cedars-Sinai Division of General Surgery and a former co-director of the breast center.