sutures newsletter


P & T Committee Approvals, FDA Warning About Diabetes Drugs

Pharmacy Focus

See highlights of the April meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Also, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has released a warning that the Type 2 diabetes medications canagliflozin, dapagliflozin and empagliflozin may lead to acidosis, including ketoacidosis.

Mark Your Calendar

Surgery Grand Rounds

Click the "read more" to see information about upcoming Surgery Grand Rounds.

Grand Rounds

Click here to view a schedule of all upcoming grand rounds.

Surgery Scheduling

Click the "read more" for hours and contact information for surgery scheduling.

Share Your News

Know an interesting colleague we should profile? A story we should tell? Submit your ideas, meetings and events for consideration.

Click here to submit your news to Sutures

Congratulations to Leadership Program Graduates

Congratulations to the three Department of Surgery physicians who graduated in May from the Cedars-Sinai Medical Staff Leadership Development Program. Among the more than 20 graduates were Allen Ho, MD, Surgery/Otolaryngology, David Magner, MD, Surgery-Colorectal, and Stephen Yoo, MD, Surgery-Colorectal.

The program is aimed at training and motivating future leaders of the medical staff.

Participants attended a series of lectures and joined an off-site weekend retreat. In addition, each participant managed a performance improvement project that will impact their patients and practice, allowing hands-on use of the tools and concepts introduced in the program.

The 2015-16 Medical Staff Leadership Development Program will start in September. A call for nominations will be issued soon. Participants are nominated by department chairs and members of the Medical Executive Committee.

Medical Staff Leadership Development Class of 2014-15 graduates

Front row (from left): David Magner, MD, Surgery-Colorectal; Gary Gutkin, MD, Inpatient Specialty Program Hospitalist Service; Todd Barrett, MD, Supportive Care Medicine; Kevin Scher, MD, Internal Medicine/Hematology-Oncology; Allen Ho, MD, Surgery/Otolaryngology; Ravi Prasad, MD, Imaging; Sheri Koplik, MD, Internal Medicine/Cardiology; Shaun Miller, MD, program co-chair; William Stanford, MD, General Internal Medicine

Second row (from left): Oksana Volod, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Nareen Hindoyan, MD, Pediatrics; Elizabeth Behringer, MD, Anesthesiology; Charles Coffey, MD, General Internal Medicine; Christopher Fitzgerald, MD, Pediatrics; Scott Toporek, MD, Inpatient Specialty Program Hospitalist Service; Scott Braunstein, MD, Emergency Medicine

Top row (from left): Benjamin Santos, MD, Emergency Medicine; Farnaz Dadmanesh, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Behrooz Hakimian, MD, Radiation Oncology; Erica Wang, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Melissa Wong, MD, program co-chair, Stephen Yoo, MD, Surgery-Colorectal; Terrence Kim, MD, Orthopedics; Scott Karlan, MD, program co-chair, Shahida Farooqi, MD, Inpatient Specialty Program Hospitalist Service

Not pictured:  Lowell Korman, MD, Inpatient Specialty Program Hospitalist Service; Anita Mathoni, MD, Anesthesiology; Sarah Mourra, MD, Psychiatry; Susan Rabizadeh, MD, Dermatology; Robert Wong, MD, Anesthesiology