sutures newsletter


P & T Committee Approvals, FDA Warning About Diabetes Drugs

Pharmacy Focus

See highlights of the April meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Also, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has released a warning that the Type 2 diabetes medications canagliflozin, dapagliflozin and empagliflozin may lead to acidosis, including ketoacidosis.

Mark Your Calendar

Surgery Grand Rounds

Click the "read more" to see information about upcoming Surgery Grand Rounds.

Grand Rounds

Click here to view a schedule of all upcoming grand rounds.

Surgery Scheduling

Click the "read more" for hours and contact information for surgery scheduling.

Share Your News

Know an interesting colleague we should profile? A story we should tell? Submit your ideas, meetings and events for consideration.

Click here to submit your news to Sutures

Recognition for Berci, Miraflor, Murry

Physician News

Berci Wins Ethics Award From UC Irvine

George Berci, MD, has won the Jerome and Hazel Tobis Award from the Ethics Center at the University of California, Irvine.

The award honors those who have achieved in their fields and have given back to society. Jerome Tobis was a founding member of the Ethics Center and a professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the university.

Berci was cited for his contributions to laparoscopic surgical procedures, which produce less post-operative pain and a quicker return to activity than more invasive procedures.

Berci, a pioneer of minimally invasive surgery, is a longtime faculty member in the Cedars-Sinai Department of Surgery. The Karl Storz Chair in Minimally Invasive Surgery was established in Berci's honor.

Miraflor, Murry Win Award From Geffen Medical Students

Two physicians in the Cedars-Sinai Department of Surgery have been named winners of the Excellence in Teaching With Humanism Residents and Fellows Award from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. They are Emily Miraflor, MD, a fellow in colorectal surgery, and Jason Murry, MD, a fellow in surgical critical care.

This award, created and presented by the Geffen School's medical student body, recognizes residents and fellows who exhibit exemplary behavior toward medical students and other members of the healthcare team. Winners of the award serve as exceptional mentors and are recognized for their ongoing contributions to the clinical training of the school's medical students.

The 10 winners of the award were chosen from among more than 150 nominees. The awards were presented June 3.